Fannin cross country celebrates


The Fannin County Rebels cross country team recently held their end of the season banquet.

The first award given was the Academic Award, which recognizes athletes with an overall GPA of 90.

Recipients include: Olivia Akins, Abbey Arvidson, Catherine Ballew, Erin Jones, Annabel Lillard, Taylor Poland, Samantha Rosas, Kinsley Sullivan, Lyndsay Turner, Emma White, Jack Dlugokinski, Samuel Jabaley, Hernan Mares, Bryce Ware and Lucas Whitaker.

Letter winners include: Akins, Arvidson, Ballew, Monica Cosentino, Jones, Lillard, Poland, Rosas, Hannah Sosebee, Sullivan, Turner, White, Dlugokinski, Corbin Head, Jabaley, Jacob Jones, Nicholas Leymeister, Mares, Austin Smith, Ware and Whitaker.

Individual Award winners included: Emma White and Jake Jones, Runners of The Year;

Monica Consentino and Lucas Whitaker, Rookie of The Year; Sam Jabaley and Erin Jones, Coaches’ Award; Abbey Arvidson, Teammate of The Year; Olivia Akins, Lady Rebel Award; and Jack Dlugokinski, Rebel Award.

Seniors Akins, Arvidson and Leymeister were also recognized for their contributions this season.

Emma White was also recognized for finishing sixth at the region meet and was able to qualify for the state competition.

She made the first team All-Region team and finished 58 out of 182 runners at the state meet in Carrollton, Georgia, with a 5K time of 23:36.

  • The News Observer
    The News Observer

Premium Content is available to subscribers only. Please login here to access content or go here to purchase a subscription.